Welcome to our new website!
REVIEWS

REVIEWS

TELL US WHAT YOU THINK

Would you like to add your message about the beaches?

WOW!

From: Brenda on 21-02-2024

This was an unexpected find on Broadsands beach . We needed a breakfast and oh my did the chefs deliver! The veggie breakfast was the best ever with a bubble and squeak that was Superb( a few secret ingredients made all the difference)and such generous portions that it made a wonderful sharing plate with perfectly brewed coffee. Thanks so much!

BEAUTIFUL LITTLE CAFE

From: Nishant on 28-12-2023

Beautiful little cafe with very inclusive options, catering for gluten free and vegans at high standards.

LOVELY PLANT BASED OPTIONS

From: Michelle on 22-12-2023

Lovely plant based options which we greatly appreciated and were surprised to find. Beautiful position, friendly chap serving us and dog friendly. Highly recommended!

GREAT LITTLE SPOT

From: Caroline on 21-11-2023

Great little spot, super friendly staff, great view. Enjoyed a lovely mince pie and Christmas cake with coffee. Stopped her as very disappointed with service at the Pilchard Inn on the Island. Also noted a couple of other customers that had previously been in Pilchard. Would recommend this place over the Inn. The food looked great and there were plenty of happy customers, making it an enjoyable hour.

A WELCOME HOT BREAKFAST & COFFEE

From: Ron on 21-11-2023

We were so pleased to find this place open this morning during off season. After a long dog walk we found them very friendly and served a welcome hot breakfast and coffee. Dog friendly too!

YOU'RE A GREAT TEAM

From: Alison on 04-11-2023

We were there today and I want to thank you so much for your friendly service. A young man apparently got our order a bit mixed up, but all was well and sorted very quickly. We loved the banter behind the counter and with us - you're a great team.

LOVING VEGAN OPTIONS

From: Dee on 22-09-2023

Just some feedback to say I'm loving the vegan options you have

GREAT SERVICE THANK YOU

From: Sam on 18-09-2023

Visited twice on our week long break for breakfast. Really lovely food - great service and treated us so well on our wedding anniversary - thank you.

REASONABLY PRICED

From: Evan on 18-09-2023

We stopped here for lunch and it was very pleasant, reasonably priced and the food was tasty.

GOOD FOOD

From: Simon on 18-09-2023

Good food in a good location

AMAZING FOOD

From: Emma on 18-09-2023

Great food - I wasn't expecting it to be honest, thought it'd be a greasy spoon type deal but they had a great range of fresh handmade food and plenty of vegan options. Lush ice cream too! Would 100% recommend to a friend.

MY NEW FAVOURITE

From: Jack on 15-08-2023

The bang bang chicken wrap was delicious!! My new favourite.

BEST PASTY

From: Ian on 15-08-2023

Literally the best pasty I have ever tasted - great quality steak, and the many other ingredients (especially the ale & rosemary) make it quite the gourmet dish.

GOOD QUICK FOOD WITH AN UNBEATABLE VIEW

From: Steve on 08-06-2023

Went twice once for lunch and once for breakfast. Both times the food was good. It is not the cheapest burger you will get but it is of good quality, as was the breakfast we had on the other occasion we went in.
They have upgraded the seating for inclement weather since we were last there which, in the teeth of some very cold N Easterly winds was very welcome. Sometimes all the recyclable plates and wooden cutlery feels a little forced but still worth finding!

LOVED IT

From: Laura on 08-06-2023

We stopped for lunch x beautiful views over the sea and beach. Had an ice cream for our dog! Was a long queue so thought it maybe some time but was super quick and moved to collection point and food was already right away. The chicken wraps were delicious x glad we decided to stop x excellent service and quality tasty food

STAFF SUPER FRIENDLY

From: Les on 29-05-2023

Opted for the light breakfast to fuel our walk to the island. Staff super friendly and helpful. Loved that they catered for dogs with wholesome locally made snacks. Coffee strong and just as it should be. Great menu variety and caters for dietary needs. Will be back

DELICIOUS LUNCH BROADSANDS

From: Emma on 27-05-2023

Just wanted to let you know we had a delicious lunch in Broadsands yesterday and Fergie served us - he was absolutely wonderful. We live in Shaldon and honestly think you need to open a Venus here - we don't have enough good food places we are crying out. We were so impressed with your menu and everything we had. Thankyou.

HOT CHOCOLATE RATED 11/10

From: Lu on 08-05-2023

We really enjoyed the food, which was good quality and the location is amazing. Staff were friendly, helpful and chatty. My son spilt his hot chocolate (that he'd just rated 11 out of 10) all over himself and the floor. Staff immediately came to help and replaced the drink free of charge (and wouldn't accept payment). Definitely will be returning and would recommend (even before the hot chocolate incident)

REASONABLY PRICED

From: Leah on 08-05-2023

Even though work is being done they're still open which is lovely to see especially on wet weather days as it gives respite from the wind and rain whilst out on a walk. Pleasant staff, lovely coffee and nibbles, reasonably priced, nice clean premises. Look forward to the summer when work is complete.

BEAUTIFUL PLACE

From: William on 08-05-2023

Beautiful place and setting, lovely and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

LOVELY FRIENDLY PLACE

From: Kate on 08-05-2023

Lovely friendly place and great coffee. They happened to be out of the item I wanted to eat - not really a criticism, more a sign of how successful they are.

LOVE IT HERE

From: Steve on 08-05-2023

Love it here. Staff so helpful and friendly. Food is fresh and coffee tastes great. And it's going to look amazing with the improvements that are being introduced outside. Can't wait to see it all finished.

VERY LOVELY FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST

From: Aika on 06-05-2023

Very lovely full English breakfast. Decent sourdough bread. Real butter. 2 eggs cooked well. Bacon not oily...good quality sausage...I have totally absolutely enjoyed. Plus stunning scenery.

FLAT WHITE WAS EXCELLENT

From: Faye on 06-05-2023

We had a lovely coffee, sausage bap and shortbread from here this morning. It was take away service but you could sit inside which was great as it was a windy morning. The flat white was excellent! You could also recycle your cups and lids there which I think is really nice.

DECENT MENU

From: Barry on 06-05-2023

A beach cafe with a decent menu, good view

FABULOUS PASTY

From: Kate on 11-03-2023

Bit of a wait. Fabulous pasty.

VERY MOREISH BREADED MUSHROOMS

From: Anon on 25-02-2023

Just looking for a snack while my husband caught a bit of surf, ordered the breaded mushrooms. Very moreish and thankful hubby was nowhere near me so had it all to myself.

THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS

From: Anon on 25-02-2023

It's February 1/2 term and we had 2 kids and the dog in tow, everyone was hungry and it started to rain ... but disaster was averted thanks to the Venus Cafe! We were SO happy (and relieved) to come across this place! The food was delicious - they have a really wide range of options from cheesy chips and decent chicken burgers to tacos and even crab bisque. The coffee was excellent, there were thick wedges of cake available, and a huge range of ice cream. Plus a really lovely seating area overlooking the surf , and water and biscuits for the dog. And smiley helpful staff (thanks to Rachael who was so lovely to our dog).

There's not much better than when the whole family are happy and you're sitting in the warmth with good food on a cold day watching surfers and windsurfers - and a few brave souls trying out the fliteboard. The surf rental place is next door if you are feeling brave. We enjoyed watching the sea tractor too - it goes back and forth from Burgh Island (costs £2 a ride). Definitely a recommend. The kids are still comparing other holiday food options to THOSE Venus cheesy chips. Next time we're in the area, well definitely be back.

GREAT FOOD

From: Tim on 11-02-2023

Great food, freshly cooked chips, good coffee, great views

LOVELY LITTLE CAFE

From: Claire on 10-02-2023

Bigbury on Sea: Lovely little cafe right at the top of the beach just down from the car park, toilets next door, nice menu with a good selection to pick from, along with hot, cold and alcoholic drinks. There is some gluten and dairy free options along with vegetarian. There are seats both outside and inside, dogs are allowed inside as well and they provide fresh water bowls for the dogs, which was brilliant for them after a run on the beach!

FANTASTIC FOOD

From: Mark on 10-02-2023

Bigbury on Sea : fantastic food in a beautiful setting with excellent staff

BRILLIANT SERVICE

From: Nick on 14-11-2022

I was in your cafe earlier this morning for a meeting and I just wanted to say how brilliant the service and hospitality was. It's not often you find somewhere with great customer care and I think that it should be acknowledged when you do, so thank you. I'll definitely be back soon!

BROADSANDS - I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND

From: Lauren on 14-11-2022

Staff are incredibly friendly and there is a lovely view of Broadsands Beach. Prices are quite high but it is to be expected in its location. I had a hot chocolate and chips - both delicious! They are also very conscious of the environment, hence the recyclable paper cups which I think is really good. I would definitely recommend.

THE SERVICE IS AMAZING

From: Emma on 14-11-2022

I've returned to this cafe a few times because the service is amazing, very friendly and welcoming staff. Had a decaff coffee and a gluten free brownie which was a very good brownie for being gluten free, coffees are perfect, perfect temps. There is a terrace to sit with amazing view.

LOVELY CAFE

From: Jessica on 14-11-2022

Lovely Cafe. Love the design and how you can enjoy the warmth and the view through the windows at the same time. They were able to provide gluten free bread so I could also enjoy a bacon bap! Friendly and generous staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Would 100% recommend and will be back.

BEST BURGER

From: John on 01-11-2022

A very pleasant break yesterday (31 Oct) as the weather was deteriorating. Very welcoming, great service and the best burger I have had in years (the fries were cracking as well). Many thanks

HEAVENLY VISIT TO VENUS

From: Shirley on 20-10-2022

A superb find! What a fabulous cafe/ restaurant. The staff are friendly, helpful polite and kind. The quality of hot drinks is excellent and the Hot Chocolate a MUST. The range of wines and beverages is amazing all served with a smile and great conversation. The food menu is vast. A fish lover delight. Freshly cooked and seasoned with great portion sizes. What better way to spend a lunchtime opposite the beach, with a wonderful relaxing view and great atmosphere. Dog friendly and child friendly it ticks all the boxes. Amazing hospitality and cannot wait to visit again soon. Thank you to all the wonderful staff.

BLACKPOOL SANDS - VERY MUCH ENJOYED THE FOOD

From: Ian on 18-09-2022

Hello
While on holiday in Devon last week we very much enjoyed your food at Blackpool Sands and were also impressed with your environmentally friendly strategies. I wondered if you are able to advise details of your paper cup supplier ?

Kind Regards
Ian

WONDERFUL LUNCH

From: Unknown on 13-08-2022

We live just up the hill from this lovely cafe - lucky us! The weather was perfect (nothing to do with the cafe, but certainly helps the outdoor experience!) We sat on the higher terrace, with its olive trees and fantastic view, it felt positively Mediterranean. I had the whole mackerel with skinny fries and slaw accompaniments, my husband had the battered fish fillets and fries. We also enjoyed a bottle of Provencal rose - adding to the Mediterranean vibe.
Both types of fish were very fresh and perfectly cooked, as were the fries. Lovely staff. Such an enjoyable afternoon - we didn't want to leave and certainly weren't rushed. Several reviews I have seen said it was expensive. The Cafe says it prides itself on sourcing local, high quality food, well cooked. Why aren't people prepared to pay for that? Would highly recommend.

WHAT AN AMAZING FIND

From: Richard on 13-08-2022

We have friends that live near here (Broadsands) and they suggested we meet up here today for lunch (with the dog too, it's dog friendly) and wow.
We are ashamed we didn''t try this place earlier, I honestly can't fault it. It was helped with an absolutely glorious day, but the service was faultless. I tried to finish the ploughman's wrap but it beat me. It was a great size and very tasty. My wife had the fish burger and she was impressed too.
It's also nice that it's licensed and stocks a good range of local beers (a lot of the food is locally sourced we noticed on the menu). Gluten free options are also clearly marked but this wasn't needed by any of us. So yeah, we'll definitely be back. Soon.

DELICIOUS

From: Michelle on 24-07-2022

Broadsands
Delicious mackerel and sole yesterday. Thankyou.

I WOULD LOVE TO COME HERE EVERY DAY

From: Google on 02-04-2022

Bigbury on Sea - We spent a week at Bigbury & as the Pilchard was shut this place was our family's holiday haunt. The food was delicious, thoroughly recommend the vishfinger bap. I'm not vegan but I genuinely wouldn't have known this wasn't fish! All the staff were so welcoming and friendly. A beautifully positioned cafe, fabulous staff (especially Rachael) and delicious food. If I lived locally I would love to come here every day, will sadly have to wait until we return again.

WHAT A WONDERFUL PLACE FOR A PIT STOP

From: Peter on 31-03-2022

What a wonderful place for a pit stop. The home made cakes are delicious and the drinks hit the spot. And to make it even better these guys are eco friendly from the ground up. Right from the supply deliveries all the way to the 3-6 week degradable cups.
Oh and the staff are really welcoming and passionate about what they do.
Give them a go, you'll be pleased you did.

THE SARDINES WERE PERFECTLY COOKED AND FRESH

From: Tony on 31-03-2022

Broadsands - Just walking past on a sunny but windy Saturday we thought why not pop in for a quick bite of lunch. Only I ate but I had the grilled sardines with bubble & squeak with wakame seaweed and coleslaw. Oh my what a perfect lunch it was in the small but busy cafe.
The sardines were perfectly cooked and fresh. The bubble & squeak was homemade rather than bought in and the wakame was delicious.
The chef was amiable and good enough to tell me how the superb seaweed was cooked and where to buy it.
I can definitely recommend the Venus cafe with friendly staff a capable chef and incredible views out across the beach to the white capped sea.

GREAT FOOD IN A LOVELY SETTING

From: Tripadvisor on 27-03-2022

Been twice in 2 days and loved it - delicious battered plaice fillets and fries, smoked mackerel arancini balls and the warmest, friendliest service in the county. Great focus on sustainability, local produce and being environmentally friendly

DELICIOUS BREAKFAST AND GLORIOUS BEACH BLACKPOOL SANDS

From: Trip Advisor on 16-03-2022

Had a delicious full English breakfast this morning. Every bit of it was cooked to perfection and made with tasty ingredients. Lovely welcoming atmosphere and happy to have well behaved dogs enjoy the space too.
What a view of the beach! Lots of fresh air blowing through in the high winds so dress up warm on winter days as the heaters can quite keep up with these gusts. Will be going back soon, as I loved it.